mariahussain

May 14, 2008

Ballad of Joseph Cohn

Filed under: Blogroll, Zionism — mariahussain @ 8:06 pm

BALLAD OF JOSEPH COHN

From behind the veil,
she avoided my eyes
but she was precious
in my sight.

I stood close to her
and I feared her
when she didn’t
run away.

She entered my dreams,
and she told me all her secrets,
which I pretended to understand.

She locked herself into
a room in my heart
She hijacked my world
and tore it apart
She was the only one
I ever wanted to love
and I know I will never
see her again.

She begged me to love her
from the bottom of her heart
and from the bottom of my heart
I loved her.

But I had to build a wall,
it was second nature to me.
I let her die on the
other side.

She locked herself into
a room in my heart
She hijacked my world
and tore it apart
She was the only one
I ever wanted to love
And I fear I will never
see her again.

Created for me
since the day that she was born,
she couldn’t help but love me
more than my own mother.

She wanted me to see
that we were just the same,
for she would never
love another.

She wished I would believe
in heaven above
She brought me an olive branch
from a precious white dove
I was the only one
she ever wanted to love
and I guess I’ll never
see her again.

She wanted to relieve me
from the curse upon my forehead
and the burden that was
weighing on my soul.

She wanted me to keep her,
she wanted my protection.
She wanted to make a deal.

I wish I could believe in heaven above,
for she was the one I wanted to love.
I turned down a gift from a precious white dove
and I know I will never see her again.

She wanted me to believe
in our common destiny
but I guess I just must have
lost the dream.

I made believe I owed her nothing
while she washed my feet
with her tears, and I
continued to deny Jesus was real.

Still, she made herself into a slavegirl for me
She promised to make me the father of a tribe
A generous queen, she gave me everything,
for she dreamed I was her only one.

She told me that all of mankind
came from just one soul,
she said the Father chooseth
whom He willeth.

So I set her free
I just could not agree
I told her, “I’ll never
see you again.”

So hang me from the
blue and white ribbons on my tree
Because I died with her
when she died for me
and I should bulldoze my own house
for that I will never see her again.

So bulldoze my house upon my
Chosen family, then hang me
from the blue and white
ribbons on my daughter’s tree
Because I’d die for her
like she died for me
Knowing I would never see her again.

I regret I will never see her again.

1 Comment »

  1. Niceeeee

    and salaams.have a blessed ramadhan

    Comment by Maj'ness — September 6, 2008 @ 11:58 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

